Middle East

Middle East

Members of the Iraqi Governing Council


Adnan Pachachi—Served as a minister from 1965 to 1967 before Saddam Hussein’s Baath Party came to power. He is a nationalist with a secular, liberal outlook.
Naseer Al-Chaderchi—Leader of the National Democratic Party and a lawyer who lived in Iraq throughout Saddam Hussein’s regime.
Samir Shakir Mahmoud—A member of the Al-Sumaidy clan which traces its origins back to the Prophet Muhammed. He is described as a writer and an entrepreneur.
Gazi Mashal Ajil Al-Yawer—A civil engineer who spent 15 years working in Saudi Arabia. He is a member of a rural tribal confederation, the Al-Shamar, which has some 60,000 members, comprised of both Sunnis and Shi’a.
Mohsen Abdel Hamid—Secretary general of the Iraqi Islamic Party, the Iraqi branch of the Muslim Brotherhood.
Dara Noor Alzin—A judge who was condemned to three years in jail under Saddam Hussein for ruling that one of his edicts on confiscating land was unconstitutional. He served eight months of his sentence before being released under general amnesty in October 2002.


Ahmad Chalabi—The leading figure in the Pentagon-financed Iraqi National Congress, which he founded in 1992. He is viewed with suspicion by some Iraqis due to his proximity to the U.S. administration and to the fact that he has been absent from Iraq for most of the past 45 years.
Ahmed Al-Barak—Head of the lawyers union and human-rights organization in Hilleh, Babylon.
Hamid Majid Mousa—Secretary general of the Iraqi Communist Party since 1993. An economist, he lived for several years in northern Iraq after the 1991 Gulf War.
Raja Habib Al-Khuzaai—The head of a maternity hospital in Dyala province in eastern Iraq. She studied and lived in Britain in the 1960s and ‘70s, before returning to Iraq in 1977.
Akila Al-Hashimi—A former Baath Party member (until April 9, 2003) and diplomat who worked in the foreign ministry and was a liaison officer with the United Nations.
Iyad Allawi—An ex-Baathist (1977) who helped found the Iraqi National Accord in 1990. His group consists mainly of military and security defectors and for many years supported the idea that the United States should try to foster a coup from within the Iraqi army.
Wael Abdul Latif—Has served as a judge since the early 1980s and is currently deputy head of the Basra court. He was imprisoned for a year under He was imprisoned for a year under Saddam Hussein’s regime.

Religious Shi’a

Abdel Aziz Al-Hakim—Number Two in the leadership of the Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution (SCIRI) and brother of the council leader, Ayatollah Mohammad Baqer (killed Aug. 29), who wanted to establish a Tehran-style regime in Iraq. He has returned to the country after 20 years in exile. SCIRI receives substantial funding from Iran and subsidizes salaries for much of the public sector in southern Iraq.
Mohammed Bahr Al-Ulloum—A cleric from the capital of Shi’a Islam, the city of Najaf. He is a highly respected religious scholar viewed as a liberal. He fled Iraq in 1991 after several members of his family were killed by Saddam Hussein’s regime.
Essedine Salim—Head of the Daawa Party in the southern city of Basra.
Abdel Karim Mahmoud Al-Mohammedawi—Heads the Iraqi Hezbollah Party. Based in Al-Amara, he has spent much of his life leading a resistance movement against Saddam Hussein in the southern marshes and spent six years in jail under the regime.
Mouwafak Al-Rabii—A British-educated doctor who was close to the assassinated Shi’a cleric Mohammad Al-Sadr.


Massoud Barzani—Leader of the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP). Commands tens of thousands of armed militia fighters, known as peshmerga, and controls a large area of northwestern Iraq.
Jalal Talabani—Leader of the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK). A lawyer, he split from the KDP in 1975 to form the PUK, which controls the southeast of northern Iraq.
Salaheddine Bahaaeddin—Founded the Kurdistan Islamic Union in 1991 and became its secretary-general three years later. It is the third most powerful force in Kurdish-dominated northern Iraq.
Mahmoud Othman—Held various posts in the KDP in the 1960s before moving to London and founding the Kurdish Socialist Party, which attracted many ex-communists.

Turkomen and Christians

Sondul Chapouk (Turkmen)—A trained engineer and teacher, as well as a women’s-rights activist.
Younadem Kana—A member of the Assyrian Democratic Movement (a movement representing the Assyrian Christian community) and an engineer who served as an official for transport in the first Kurdish regional assembly and later a trade minister in the regional government established in Erbil.